The Hasseltse Kapel was erected approximately in 1536, though the first document to mention the chapel is dated from 1540. Interestingly, the chapel wasn't used for worship between 1648 and 1796 - there were no priests specifically assigned to the chapel and for a time the chapel was used as a regular house, though the clock tower and the building itself were still used for public functions.
As worship services returned in 1796, a wooden Baroque style statue of Mary holding the Christ child was installed in the chapel. Though the years, benefactors of the chapel and donors have left elaborate clothing and jewels on the statue as a sign of their faith and devotion. In 1971 and 1972, the chapel and the statue were restored, fundraising for which was helped in a great part by schoolchildren selling commemorative decorative plates with an image of the chapel.
Today, the chapel holds some religious services and arrangements can be made for Catholic and non-Catholics that wish to hold their wedding and anniversary ceremonies in the chapel. In the month of May the chapel celebrates Mariamaand (Mary's Month) and Catholics make a pilgrimage to the chapel as an act of devotion. The chapel is easy to miss if you're not looking for it - it stands in the middle of a park in a small, quiet neighborhood. But the peace and quiet that surround the chapel and it's unique history make it a wonderful place to visit.
The Hasseltse Kapel (Hasseltplein 40, 5042 AC Tilburg) is open daily from 09:00 to 19:00, unless otherwise scheduled. Visit the website for additional information.
Today's post is part of the #SundayTraveler linkup hosted by Chasing the Donkey and friends. Please be sure to check out the other great blogs!